Kenyan Premier League was created in the year 2003, with a participation of 16 clubs. It was affiliated to the Kenyan Football federation with Kenya Football foundation. The league was known was Kenya National Football League since it was established 1963- 1974, Kenya Super Cup 1974- 1997 and Kenya Premier League from 1998 to date.

Corporate Structure

The league is owned and managed by 18 clubs who are the shareholders. It is affiliated to the Football Kenya Federation who are also the shareholders and members of the Kenya Premier League board of directors.

The current CEO is Jack Ogunda, with Frank Okoth who is in-charge of logistics.


Currently the league has a broadcast deal with Super-sport, with Umbro being their official referee kit supplier and ball suppliers. On 21st August, 2012, KPL signed a deal with East African Breweries, and it was named as Tusker Premier League. By then Puma was the official ball supplier.

On August 6th 2015, East Africa Betting Company SportPesa signed four and a half year deal, renaming the league as SportPesa Premier League.

Thereafter the league trophy was renewed, with Gor Mahia FC been the first Champions of the Cup.


The league is made up of 16 clubs. In the course of the season, February to November. A club plays the other twice; double round robin system. They play at their and home stadium once and at their opponents once. This sum to a total of 30 games in a season.

A team receives three points for a win and one point for a draw. They are ranked by the total points, goal difference and goals scored.

At the end of the season, the club with most points is crowned the champions. The two lowest placed  teams are relegated to the National Supper League with its top two teams promoted in their place.


The popular team are rivals AFC Leopards and Gor Mahia FC. Gor Mahia FC last 15th title was in 2015 season, while AFC Leopards had their last 12th league title in 1998 season.

There are also other clubs, each with specified location , stadium and their stadium capacities.

Each club has a management team, lead by the head coach. The roles coach include; regular team running  i.e trainings, team selection and player acquisition. The influence and popularity of the coach varies from club to club and is related to the club ownership and manager relationship with fans.

Recent  League winners  

2010 – Ulinzi Stars (Nakuru)

2011  – Tusker FC (Nairobi)

2012 –  Tusker FC  (Nairobi)

2013 – Gor Mahia (Nairobi)

2014 – Gor Mahia (Nairobi)

2015 – Gor Mahia (Nairobi)

2016 – Tusker FC (Nairobi)

Top scorers in recent season

The league record of the most scored goals, is held by Maurice Ochieng, who completed 1976 season with 26goals, from Gor Mahia FC . Other recent top scorers include;

2012 – John Baraza             Sofapaka FC    18 goals

2013 – Jacob Keli                 KCB FC            17 goals

2014 – Dan Sserunkuma    Gor Mahia      16 goals

2015 – Jesse Were                Tusker FC        22goals

2016 –  John Makwata        Ulinzi Stars      15 goals